About Us

Governing Board | MLF Bylaws | Meeting Schedules | New Members

Medium shot smiley people holding books, image by freepik
image by freepik
Mary Johnson, President

Mary Johnson is a retired librarian who was fortunate to work 43 years in public libraries. Her positions in children’s services were in two city libraries in Iowa, and for the library in Durango, Colorado. Moving to Minnesota as an Assistant Director for a regional library system was followed by a branch manager position to open a new library in the growing Dakota County city of Lakeville. Mary retired from the position of Assistant Director for Dakota County Library. Singing is Mary’s avocation.

Carol Jackson, Vice President

Carol Jackson is the Director of Outreach and Instruction at SELCO (Southeastern Libraries Cooperating). She earned her MLIS from St. Kate’s and spent 20 years working in public libraries, fifteen of which were spent managing libraries and coordinating adult programming. In 2023, she received her Narrative Coach Practitioner certification with the intention of finding ways to more directly support library staff and help them attain their professional goals.

Heidi Hammond, Secretary

Heidi Hammond is a retired associate professor and coordinator of the school library media specialist portion of the MLIS program at St. Catherine University in Saint Paul, Minnesota. She has twenty-three years of experience as a school librarian at the elementary, middle, high school, and district levels.

Stacey Hendren, Treasurer

Stacey Hendren is the Library Manager of the Northtown Branch in Anoka County. Hendren is a long-time member of the Minnesota Library Association, Public Library Association and the American Library Association. Hendren has served in multiple roles at MLA including President (2021). She has presented at conferences and offered training at the local, state and national level on the topics of library management, intellectual freedom, reference, reader’s advisory, STEM and youth services. Stacey received Consumer Health Information Specialization from the Medical and Public Library Associations (Level I 2018, Level II in 2020). Stacey received her BA in music education from UMN-Morris and her MLIS from UW-Milwaukee.

Andy Cummings

Andy Cummings is Executive Vice President and Editor-in-Chief at Lerner Publishing Group. Lerner is one of the nation’s largest independently owned children’s publishers with more than 5,000 books in print. For over 60 years, Lerner has created nonfiction and fiction books for pre-school to young adult readers and for libraries, classrooms, and homes across the country. Andy leads Lerner’s terrific content development, design, and digital teams that conceive of and create over 500 titles per year.

Jodi Grebinoski, Minnesota Library Association President

Jodi Carlson Grebinoski is the Director at the Virginia Public Library which is part of the Arrowhead Library System.  She started her position in August 2020.  She is currently the Minnesota Library Association President.   

Maggie Meehan

Maggie Meehan is a Law Librarian at the Dakota County Law Library. She received her MLIS from St. Kate’s and has over 15 years of experience working in academic and law libraries. Maggie has served the Minnesota Library Association on the Public Libraries Division Board, and currently serves as a member of MLA’s Communications Committee.

Maggie Snow

Maggie Snow is the Minitex Director and has been working in libraries for 25+ years.  Snow is a former president of the Minnesota Library Association and was awarded MLA’s William G. Asp Distinguished Career Award in 2018. You can reach Maggie by email at msnow@umn.edu.

Minnesota Library Foundation Bylaws

Minnesota Library Foundation Bylaws (amended December 8, 2022)

Meeting Schedule

The Minnesota Library Foundation meets on a quarterly basis and all meetings are virtual. If you would like to attend a meeting, please contact us.

New Members Information

Interested in becoming a member of the Minnesota Library Foundation board? Please fill out the Board of Directors Application (pdf) and email to mnlibraryfoundation@outlook.com.